What is the Early Years Foundation Stage?

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is how the Government and Early Years Professionals describe the time in your child’s life between the age of birth and five years.

Registered nurseries,  preschools and reception classes must deliever the EYFS and follow a legal document called the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework.

What is the EYFS Framework?

The EYFS Framework exists to support all professionals working with children within the EYFS.

The EYFS sets out:

  • The Legal Welfare Requirements that everyone registered to look after children MUST follow to keep your child safe and promote their welfare.
  • The seven areas of Learning and Development outcomes which guide professionals’ engagement with your child’s play and activities to support children to gain new knowledge and achieve competency in skills.

What does the EYFS mean for parents/Carers?

The EYFS :

Ensures your child’s safety

Within the EYFS there are set legal safeguarding and welfare requirements registered provisions MUST adhere to, therefore giving parents/carers assurances that children are kept as safe as possible.

Staff must respond appropriately and effectively to concerns about children’s welfare, keep documentation (medicine forms, accident forms, registration information etc), develop  practice specific policies and proceedures,  ensure risk assessments are conducted to maintain security and safety, develop relationships with parents/carers and other professionalsinvolved within the child’s life, practice in safe and appropriate ways, ensure all children are given equal opportunties, respond effectively to injuries and accidents, provide food and drink in a clean and hygienic environment, maintain a smoke free environment, ensure there is adequate space and appriopriate resources, conduct fire drills and to recruit safely to ensure only suitable people have contact with children and performance manage and train practitioners as required.


Registered provisions must be inspected by OFSTED and results and findings published.  This helps parents/carers ensure they choose quality childcare.

What do children learn in the EYFS?

The EYFS framework explains how and what children will learn to support and enhance their development.

Children learn skills, acquire new knowledge and have opportunities to demonstrate their understanding and abilities through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first.  These include:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and provide good foundations for future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will helps them develop skills in 4 further specific areas.  These are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive Arts and Design

The children at Lapal Grange Preschool are supported by wonderful practitioners who work hard to adopt the EYFS learning and development framework to ensure their practice is excellent.  We recognise children are unique and have very different interests and needs.  Children are encouraged to lead their learning and practitioners observe and note what children do so the environment and experiences can be provided accordingly to meet their needs; therefore learning is personalised.

Children with us actively learn inside and outside through play and exploration and become creative and critical in their thinking.  This is because the children decision make (their voices and opionions are heard and acted upon), have mental and physical involvement, engage in different contexts for learning, are encourage to make connections and participate in sustained shared thinking.